NetRollover FAQs

If the answer you are looking for is not covered in this FAQ section please email support@optusnet.com.au.

Please click on a link below to view the answer to our most commonly asked questions about our rollover plans. If you're looking for help not specifically related to NetRollover please look at the Helpdesk FAQS section.

Information about NetRollover Session Limits

Questions
What is Rollover and how does it work?
How do I know if I'm on a Rollover Plan?
How can I see how many hours I have available to use this month?
What happens if I don't use all my Rollover hours within the three months?
In which order are my Rollover hours used?
Will I still be charged for excess hours?
Do my 100 Bonus hours from signup rollover too?
What happens to my rollover hours if I change my plan?
Where can I get more information on Rollover?
Rollover Terms & Conditions

What is Rollover and how does it work?

OptusNet Rollover allows any unused Internet hours from your monthly plan to automatically rollover to the next month. For example, if you select the NetRollover 120 plan, you have 120 Internet hours to use a month. If you only use 80 hours in a month, the remaining 40 hours will rollover, giving you 160 hours to use in the following month (120 from the plan, plus 40 unused hours rolled over from the previous month).
With OptusNet Rollover your unused included plan hours from any one month can rollover twice giving you up to three months in total to use your included monthly hours.

Back to top

How do I know if I'm on a Rollover Plan?

If you are currently on an OptusNet NetRollover plan you're eligible for Rollover. You can see the name of your plan by going to the My Account section of the OptusNet Website, click on account usage and login to your account and you will be shown your plan name.

Back to top

How can I see how many hours I have available to use this month?

You can see how many hours you have to use this month by visiting the My Account section of the OptusNet Website, click on account usage and you will be shown "Hours Available". On this page you will also be able to see your past usage, including Invoice Number, Dates Covered, Available Hours, Invoice Total and Usage.
So, when you click on the amount of available hours for any of these previous months you will be able to see where these hours came from including, how many hours were from your plan and how many hours were rollover hours.

Back to top

What happens if I don't use all my Rollover hours within the three months?

Unused hours included in your plan from any one month will expire at the end of three months. This means that you have, in addition to the month when you receive your plan hours, the following two months to use any remaining unused hours before they will expire.

Back to top

In which order are my Rollover hours used?

When you have Rollover hours available, you will not start using them until you have used all the monthly hours included in your current plan. Once you do start using the Rollover hours, the most recent hours are used first. For example, if you are on a NetRollover 20 plan and you have 10 hours to rollover from the previous month and 5 hours from 2 months ago (a total of 35 hours to use this month), you will have to use your 20 monthly included hours before you start using the 10 Rollover hours available, and then lastly the 5 Rollover hours.

Back to top

Will I still be charged for excess hours?

Yes, you will still be charged for excess hours if you use over your available hours for the month. The number of available hours is calculated by adding your included plan hours for the month as well as any Rollover hours that you may have.

Back to top

Do my 100 Bonus hours from signup rollover too?

No, any bonus hours that are available to new customers who connect to OptusNet expire at the end of your first billing period and do not rollover.

Back to top

What happens to my rollover hours if I change my plan?

If you change from one NetRollover plan to another NetRollover plan your hours will continue to rollover as normal, however if you change from a NetRollover plan to a plan that is not eligible for rollover, for example a NetAllHours plan, any rollover hours will expire with this change.

Back to top

Where can I get more information on Rollover?

If you would like more information on how Rollover works, please feel free to email us at support@optusnet.com.au or call our Customer Service Team 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.

Back to top

Rollover Terms & Conditions
  1. Optus NetRollover unused included dial-up access hours in any one month will expire at the end of three months. ie. unused monthly included hours in any one month can be carried forward and used in the next two billing months. Some exclusions apply eg NetAllHours plans and some small business Internet plans.
  2. 100 bonus hours to use in the first month of connection are available to new customers.
  3. Unused Bonus Hours expire one month after activation and do not carry forward.
  4. Unused included hours are not refundable or transferable, even at account closure.
  5. OptusNet may vary its fees and charges at any time by giving you reasonable notice of the change.
  6. These terms and conditions are in addition to the OptusNet Standard Agreement and the Acceptable Use Policy

Back to top